Book Reviews

Children’s Books: Great New Books for a Child Just Learning to Read

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 02/16/2018 - 4:00am
Clever, beautifully illustrated new books from Brian Selznick, Sara Varon and Bryan Collier that are easy to read — and to love.
Categories: Book Reviews

Ivory Tower: Science’s Inference Problem: When Data Doesn’t Mean What We Think It Does

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 02/16/2018 - 4:00am
Three new books on the challenge of drawing confident conclusions from an uncertain world.
Categories: Book Reviews

Letters to the Editor

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 02/16/2018 - 4:00am
Readers respond to recent issues of the Sunday Book Review.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Arrested at 12, She’s Now an Activist Fighting for Social Justice

New York Times Book Reviews - Thu, 02/15/2018 - 3:36pm
Patrisse Khan-Cullors’s memoir, “When They Call You a Terrorist,” recounts the life of a Black Lives Matter co-founder.
Categories: Book Reviews

Editors’ Choice: 11 New Books We Recommend This Week

New York Times Book Reviews - Thu, 02/15/2018 - 11:05am
Suggested reading from critics and editors at The New York Times.
Categories: Book Reviews

Our Back Pages: Notes From the Book Review Archives

New York Times Book Reviews - Thu, 02/15/2018 - 10:50am
In which we consult the Book Review’s past to shed light on the books of the present. This week: Francine Prose on Ursula K. Le Guin.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: Was It the Perfect Crime or a Paranoid Fantasy?

New York Times Book Reviews - Thu, 02/15/2018 - 4:00am
Junichiro Tanizaki’s early novel “In Black and White” uses nested murder plots to explore the guilt and responsibilities of the writing life.
Categories: Book Reviews

By the Book: Kristin Hannah: By the Book

New York Times Book Reviews - Thu, 02/15/2018 - 4:00am
The novelist Kristin Hannah would like to discuss women’s history with Margaret Atwood, Hillary Clinton and Ruth Bader Ginsburg. “Let’s face it, the Notorious R.B.G. is just plain cool.”
Categories: Book Reviews

The Enthusiast: In Praise of Alistair MacLean and the Male Romance

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 02/14/2018 - 8:58am
“Years later, I understood that these were in fact romance novels for boys, which means very little romance and lots of danger and battle-forged camaraderie.”
Categories: Book Reviews

The Shortlist: 3 Books to Help You Understand Millennials and Beyond

New York Times Book Reviews - Wed, 02/14/2018 - 4:00am
Whether it’s the modern labor market, a selfie obsession or loneliness brought on by cellphone addiction, here’s what’s wrong with young people.
Categories: Book Reviews

Books News: Top Awards Given Out for Young Adult and Children’s Literature

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 02/13/2018 - 11:05pm
“Hello, Universe,” “Wolf in the Snow,” “We Are Okay,” and “Piecing Me Together” are among the medal winners.
Categories: Book Reviews

Poetry: For Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Nearly 100, the Beat Goes On

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 02/13/2018 - 12:23pm
A retrospective collection from the poet and publisher, “Ferlinghetti’s Greatest Poems,” gets at his rebellious appeal.
Categories: Book Reviews

Front Burner: Produce Comes to Life in ‘Edible Ensembles’

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 02/13/2018 - 12:02pm
A new book from the illustrator Gretchen Röehrs puts fruits and vegetables on fashion parade.
Categories: Book Reviews

Match Book: Dear Match Book: Authors I Can Binge-Read

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 02/13/2018 - 10:20am
Seeking authors with a spate of books I can consume one after another without coming up for air.
Categories: Book Reviews

Crime: Fans of Easy Rawlins and Leonid McGill, Meet Joe King Oliver

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 02/13/2018 - 4:00am
Walter Mosley leads off the Crime column, followed by a first novel set in rural Cornwall and series prequels from Charles Finch and Trudy Nan Boyce.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Why Did Christianity Prevail?

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 02/13/2018 - 4:00am
Bart D. Ehrman’s “The Triumph of Christianity” looks at how a new religion conquered the Roman Empire.
Categories: Book Reviews

New & Noteworthy

New York Times Book Reviews - Tue, 02/13/2018 - 4:00am
A selection of books published this week; plus, a peek at what our colleagues around the newsroom are reading.
Categories: Book Reviews

Nonfiction: Risking Everything for Democracy

New York Times Book Reviews - Mon, 02/12/2018 - 4:00am
Marci Shore’s “The Ukrainian Night” describes the protesters of a still-unfinished revolution.
Categories: Book Reviews

Fiction: Three Lives, and the Tenuous Ties That Bind Them

New York Times Book Reviews - Mon, 02/12/2018 - 4:00am
In “Asymmetry,” Lisa Halliday weaves the tale of a May-December love affair into the account of an Iraqi-American economist detained at Heathrow.
Categories: Book Reviews

Self-Helped: How One Book Changed My Relationship With Money

New York Times Book Reviews - Fri, 02/09/2018 - 1:15pm
The nine-step money-management system in “Your Money or Your Life” allowed both its writers to retire early.
Categories: Book Reviews
Syndicate content